This is my badge of honor

This is my badge of honor, not my badge of shame like some people may see it. Though, I still hesitate to post it because the lady at the grocery store check out the other day asked me if I wanted to try a cookie and I declined with a “no thank you because I’m nursing my dairy and egg allergic daughter.” She asked how old she was and I blushed “3”. The look of shock on her face said it all. It always does. But, let me tell you, I was fortunate to get to nurse my daughter at all, for so long, and for still getting to. We struggled so much at first with her tiny mouth on her 5 pound premature body and she has a condition called FPIES (food protein induced enterocolitis syndrome) and she would not have been able to tolerate most formulas and IF she would have been able to take one it would have bankrupted us, as it has so many other FPIES families. I have sacrificed my diet and my social life for 3 years now to ensure her health and I take no shame in it whatsoever. “How do you do it?” they ask. You do. You do as you know you can and have to for the sake of your baby and I do it because I know there are many magnificent mommies out there who couldn’t. I do it because this is my life and my child and right now it’s what works best for US. Cheers to all the moms out there doing what’s best for them and theirs 🍻

This is my badge of honor

Leave a Reply

